Header image  
line decor
line decor


Honors and Awards:

  • 2021: University of Chicago Alumni Professional Achievement Award
  • 2020: National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Member
  • 2017: Kavli Prize Lecture, American Astronomical Society, Austin, TX
  • 2016 – : Distinguished Visiting Research Chair, Perimeter Institute, Waterloo, Canada
  • 2012: Honorary Doctorate (Honoris Causa) at the University of Stockholm
  • 2012: Simons Foundation Fellowship in Theoretical Physics
  • 2009– : named George E. Uhlenbeck Professor of Physics at the Univ. of Michigan
  • 2009– : named Fellow, American Physical Society
  • 2006-2007: Miller Professor Fellowship, UC Berkeley
  • 1990-1995: NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award
  • 1989-1991: Sloan Foundation Fellowship
  • 1986: President’s Fellowship of the University of California
  • 1983-84: William Rainey Harper Fellowship of the University of Chicago

Honorary Lectures:

  1. Kavli Prize Lecture, American Astronomical Society, Austin, TX “Dark Matter in the Universe,” June 5, 2017
  2. Distinguished Lecture Series, Texas A&M “Dark Matter in the Universe,” April 13, 2017
  3. Distinguished Lecture in Honor of Frank Avignone’s 50 years at the University of South Carolina “Dark Matter in the Universe,” Feb, 2016
  4. Schroedinger Lecture, University of Zurich “The Dark Side of the Universe,” Oct. 19, 2015
  5. 10th Pflueker Lecture, Bonn Cologne Graduate School of Physics and Astronomy, “The Dark Side of the Universe,” (Previous speakers include Gerard t’Hooft, Andrei Linde, Theodor H ̈ansch, Michael Berry and Serge Haroche). Bonn, Germany, Nov. 13, 2015
  6. 10th Barkla Lecture at the University of Liverpool, Nov. 5, 2015 “Dark Matter in the Universe” Previous Barkla lectures were presented by Frank Wilczek (2006), Martinus Veltman (2007), Francois Englert (2008), Gerard ’t Hooft (2009), Michael Green (2010), John Ellis (2012), Viatcheslav Mukhanov (2013), Jacob Bekenstein (2014).
  7. Plenary Talk to 109 astronauts: “What do we Know about the Universe Today?” Inspired by Space Conference, Association of Space Explorers, XXVIII Planetary Congress Stockholm, Sweden Sept. 22, 2015
  8. Invited lecturer at Carl Friedrich von Siemens Foundation “Nymphenburg Talks”, Nymphen- burg Palace, Munich, Germany, 2013